• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Spring to Finish: Pansies & Primroses done!

2010-04-26-31.JPG

A typical photoshoot of my quilts: I lay them out on the ground, and they are immediately covered in girls! In fact, I just laid the quilts down in the living room to get their final measurements, and the girls are dancing on top of them, wearing princess clothes and singing.

When I chose 10 projects to try and finish within 6 weeks, these 2 were a given for the challenge — I *only* had to put on their bindings.

2010-05-12-15.JPG

These quilts were put on my Spring to Finish list here, and were previously discussed here and here.

When I started these quilts, I simply wanted to make pink flowers on a green background using the pattern Charming Flowers from Simply Charming.

Simply Charming

I must admit I was incredibly surprised when I finally put my first flowers together and they looked like…..pansies!

2010-04-26-28.JPG

…and evening primroses!

2010-05-12-40.JPG

I did the hard work on these last summer/fall — piecing the tops!  Finishing them now for the challenge made for my easiest finishes on the list.  The real difficulty right now – and why I haven’t shown them ’til now even though I finished them the 1st week of the challenge – was finding a field of primroses in which to take their picture!  Hello!  It’s wildflower season here in Austin and last year the drainage ditch next to us was FILLED with evening primroses.  This year?  Not so much.

These quilts have been traveling in my car trunk for the past 2 weeks, and I finally just put them in the best (small) patch of evening primroses I could find.  I have adored these little flowers ever since Elena was a baby and her first spring I plopped her in a patch of them and came up with this cutie patootie picture:

2006-03-27-53.jpg

And then Julia was added to our family and we got this stunner:
2008-04-23-19.jpg

And last year look at both of these beauties in their tutus:
2009-04-08-006.JPG

Ahhhh, I digress!

The big quilt measures 48″ x 60″ and is mine.  It is now my spring lap/couch quilt.  It makes me very happy — spring is definitely my favorite season.
2010-05-12-01.JPG

The little quilt measures 34″x46″ and is up for grabs.  I guess I’ll put it in my quilt room for a while and wait for some little one that needs some pansies and primroses in her life.

2010-05-12-29.JPG

The backs are nothing special, but thought I’d show anyway. The small one is using up scraps, and the big one is that Hoffman purple flower print.
2010-04-26-16.JPG

And of course thanks once again go to my mom for quilting these.  I LOVE what she did.  I love the leafy borders and the great details in the flowers, etc etc.  Thanks!

2 Responses

  1. Quilts and girls are just so pretty……

  2. […] 1. Finish baby Pansies & Primroses quilt (needs binding).  DONE.  Just waiting for a baby to gift it to!  Blogged here! […]

Leave a comment