• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

The Wool Quilt

In honor of the cold weather sweeping the nation, I thought I’d show off my wool quilt.

Way back when, my Mom had a pattern company.  One of her patterns had little wool hearts, and my Mom included the wool fabric for the hearts with the pattern.

When I was fairly new in my quilting adventures I took all of her leftover wool and made two quilts.  Here is the one I kept, and one of my brothers has the other.  I had to take 1/2″ seams since the wool had a strong tendency to unravel.

These are WARM quilts.  Wool on top and a soft flannel for the binding and back.  Perfect for cuddling on these cold nights.  Well, perfect if  you only let the flannel touch the skin.  That wool is itchy!

The quilt was made in the “brown paper bag” tradition.  All the pieces were placed in a brown paper bag, and as long as what I pulled out weren’t exact matches, they got sewn together.  I then quilted it in the ditch on a regular sewing machine.  Which was no easy feat considering it is 73″x98″, and did I mention made of wool, batting and flannel?!?

2 Responses

  1. Oh my, I can’t believe you managed to quilt that on a regular machine, it must have been so heavy. The biggest I’ve done was 70×80 and it wasn’t wool!

  2. I want to come steal that and snuggle up in it – it looks so warm!

Leave a Reply

