• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Elena’s Ariel Nightdress

During a particularly boring-to-her trip to Joann’s, Elena spotted some Ariel fabric.  Feeling bad for her, I bought all that remained on the bolt – one whole yard.  (I know, I’m *so* generous!)  Ariel has always been Elena’s favorite princess.  For a good six months as a toddler she named herself Ariel and would often only answer to Ariel.

Luckily, 1 yard of the 60″-width fabric was just the amount I needed to make her a “night dress.”  (They aren’t nightgowns in our house for whatever reason.  Elena named them herself upon her super-exciting discovery of Dresses! You! Can! Wear! To! Bed!).

2010-05-30-13.JPG

I made the nightdress using McCall’s M5969.  Totally randomly, I ask that you go check out the pattern cover that I’ve linked to.  And then let me relate to you what is written on the back cover:

NOTE: The garments in this package are not intended for sleep apparel.”

Now is that not the DUMBEST thing you’ve ever seen written on a pattern just full of pajamas!?!  I obviously know it has to do with legal issues, but it’s just dumb to try and deny that this pattern is for anything BUT sleep apparel.

The pattern was easy, although I admittedly struggled with one of the armholes.  But that was just my issue with not reading directions properly.  The other armhole was easy.

OH, and LOOK at these beautiful seams! So happy to have my serger to have nice clean professional seams!
2010-05-31.JPG

Yep, I showed off the good armhole!

I also made the eyemask with the scraps per Elena’s request after she saw the pattern.  She’s had fun walking around blind-folded ever since.

2010-05-30-21.JPG

If I showed you all the pictures I took last night, you would see a progression of Julia chasing her Daddy for a chance to use the water hose!  Obviously, she won and enjoyed spraying the yard while I photographed Elena.

Elena LOVES this nightdress and happily wore it immediately and only took it off for her nightly bath.  Such a better reaction than the one I encountered with the  last garment I made for Elena.

2 Responses

  1. […] 9.  Make Ariel nightgown for Elena.  DONE.  And Elena loves it!  A blog post is already written, but I’ll let you read about it in another day or so. Edited to add: Blogged here. […]

  2. Oh, I can’t stop laughing. The disclaimer! The eyemask! I love it all!

Leave a Reply

