• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Jon’s Loving Hands Project

2009-05-25-05

I first talked about this quilt here.   It is finally finished, and I delivered it to the surprised recipient today.  He is undergoing surgery for cancer on Wednesday (and of course would appreciate any prayers you can send his way), and my hope is that this quilt can comfort him as he recovers from surgery and for when he undergoes chemo again.

As stated on the label:

“Hands of love, warmth & encouragement from just a few of the people cheering Jon on during his winning fight against cancer.”

2009-05-25-12

It really was special being a part of this project.  By reading the handwritten notes from Jon’s family and friends I felt like I got to know both Jon and his loved ones and it was an honor to be a part of this great group of people.  Their love and support of Jon shone through their words and their hands.

2009-05-25-14

You might be able to tell from the pictures, but I think it is better understood by holding the quilt in person:  I think the tactile experience of the quilt truly adds to the messages.  (Nothing like extolling the virtues of my craft!)  Being able to read the letters of support in the writer’s own handwriting, and being able to place one’s hand on the writer’s hand, is just so…overwhelming/emotional/special.

2009-05-25-09

And of course, I say all of this after also making one of these hand quilts for my sister after she suffered from her stroke, and seeing my family members hands, measuring mine against theirs, and being touched.  (Can be seen here.)

Anyway, *whew*, enough emotions!  I was a nervous wreck giving the quilt.  Jon had *no* clue what I was doing giving him a gift, but MC insisted on putting me on the spot!  I am much better bragging and showing off online than in person!  (and nope, I don’t have any pictures of him receiving it.  Didn’t manage to grab my camera.)

And kudos to MC for dealing with my bajillion questions during the making, even up to my question last night on whether anyone was allergic to cats in her family since, um, yes, I have cats.  Unluckily, Jon’s allergic.  So immediately into the washer the quilt went after being vacuumed and lint-rollered.  I try to keep the cats away from my fabric and supplies, but the weather is getting warm and those darn cats shed!

2009-05-25-19

The quilt is particularly cozy, having a soft flannel backing.  Julia approves its comfort factor:

2009-05-25-33

Finally, a few notes on the making for the quilters in the house (and because I called my sister a dozen different times to get her to take measurements of the quilt I made her.  Just in case I am ever moved to make a similar quilt again, thought I better record the measurements here!):

*The quilt blocks are 9″ finished squares.  I sent 8.5″ blue squares to the family & friends so I knew that whatever they happened to draw would fit on the finished block.

*The sashings are 1.5″ finished width.

*The inner border is 1″ finished width.

*The outer border is 4″ finished width.  Apparently on my sister’s it was 4.5″ finished width.

Lo and behold, final size would be 62.5″ x 73″.  Except the darn thing shrunk a bit in the wash.

* I am very proud of my border quilting:

2009-05-25-07

I quickly figured out that I couldn’t free-hand hands, and I couldn’t use a pantograph on my little machine, so I ended up creating my own little template – out of an old cereal box – to quilt around:

2009-05-25-36

Took forever, but I really liked the outcome!

4 Responses

  1. amazing!

  2. If you check your email, you should have some (not great quality) pictures of you giving the quilt to him. 🙂

  3. So many people here have commented on Jon’s quilt! It’s getting a lot of use and I love putting it over Jon’s bed and watching him read (and touch) the hands.
    It adds so much personality and life to an otherwise sterile room.

  4. How very special! Thank you for sharing your beautiful quilt and the story behind this one. Our son is a childhood cancer survivor and was blessed by an anonymous quilter when he was at the hospital during chemo treatments…such an awesome thing to have during those days and special to have now.

    He was 14 and 15 during that challenging time, but we are so very blessed that he is a strong, witness for the Lord’s healing and is a 20 year old going into his 3rd year of undergrad studies.

    Blessings & Aloha!

Leave a comment