• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Robot Baby Shower Gifts!

I went to a baby shower recently and decided that it is definitely a lot of fun when the parents have chosen a theme for the nursery!

The theme for this particular nursery was Robots, and luckily I think David Walker’s Robots line that recently came out is just adorable.

First, I made this pillow:

2009-03-21-28

I had bought a pillow form and just made up the front to fit.  For the nice neat letters, I printed out the name in a really large font on the computer – in outline so I wouldn’t waste ALL my ink – and used those as my templates.  I used Lite Steam a Seam to put them on and then satin-stitched around the letters.  I quilted the top of the pillow but not the back.  Look at the cute back!:

2009-03-21-30

I had never made a pillow with a pocket back before and Oh My Gosh what was I ever scared of???  It was actually a ton easier than handsewing a regular pillow closed at the end, and of course there’s the bonus that it’s easily washable.  I did have to do some seamripping though as I had trouble thinking through what order to sew the back pieces on in order to get the top piece, well, on top.

I also made a crib sheet for the first time:

2009-03-21-13

Now, if I had realized how easy this was too I would have made some for my girls before.  But, now that Julia won’t be in the crib for too much longer it doesn’t seem worth it.  I used this tutorial for the sewing dimensions.  The only thing that really annoyed me was that it called for 45″ width fabric and you cut out 8″ squares from the corners.  Since fabric is RARELY a full 45″, I wasn’t sure whether to cut out the full 8″ or to make that cut smaller to account for the smaller width.  I went ahead and cut out the full 8″ squares and it seemed to work fine.

Finally, I made this onesie for the baby and this shirt for the baby’s big sister:

2009-03-21-14

The big sister is my daughter’s best friend in the whole world so I couldn’t leave her out, and what’s better than something to match her baby brother?  Elena was totally jealous of the shirt and wants one of her own!  I think I have maybe one more robot I can fussy-cut out to make her a t-shirt as well.  (I actually have about a fat quarter left, but it is full of holes since I fussy-cut the letters on the pillow and the robots for the shirt and there is amazingly only like 1 full robot left – kind of annoying!)

All in all, I was very proud of my gifts and probably bragged too much about them at the party!

Leave a Reply

