• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

My Girls’ Rehearsal Dresses

2009-05-19-05 cropped

Despite being in the midst of a dozen different projects, I decided I needed to make the girls coordinating (NOT matching!) dresses to wear to my brother’s rehearsal dinner.  OK, really I just wanted to show off both my girls and my sewing! 

Of course, I didn’t make them until the night before we left town to go to the wedding, but I did finish them!  (btw, thanks! to one friend for hosting a crafting night, and another friend for letting me try out her serger to finish the edges.)

I didn’t get any good pictures at the rehearsal, so dressed the girls up again and took them to a local turtle pond.  The girls LOVE the turtle pond!

Watching the turtles

On a non-sewing aside, I find it hilarious that Elena always points out the “Big  Sister” animal.  At the zoo in Houston on Friday, she showed me the Big Sister giraffes, and at the turtle pond all mid-sized turtles were Big Sister Turtles.  Cracks. me. up.

Going back to the dresses, I used a slightly too small Old Navy dress as a pattern for Julia’s dress.  I added an inch or so to every seam, added a little more flare to the skirt, and did a lot of play with the neckline.  Okay, really I just screwed up the neckline.  It was too wide at first and the straps were falling off so I folded them in and tacked them down on the front.  The bottom of the armholes need some work, but they worked for my quick project and can’t really be seen.  Overall, I really like how this came out!

Front of Julia's dress

Elena’s dress is McCall’s 5088.  The best part of this dress was that it took less than a yard of fabric, which is becoming exceedingly rare for the dresses I make her.  It could stand to be a little longer, and the elastic on the back a bit tighter, but overall very happy.  I can see myself making this pattern – with modifications – again.

Front of Elena's Dress standing

The fabrics in both dresses are part of Martha Negley’s Variegated Garden line with Rowan.  I am totally loving these fabrics, and just bought another half-yard from this collection today.

And, as another non-sewing aside, I am SO HAPPY I finally got a picture of Julia’s Kissy Face!  It is HILARIOUS!  Look for yourself:

Kissy Face!

I mean, she looks like she’s about to punch you out or something, but she’s really just ready to give out some loving.  Awwwww…..

2009-05-19-65

And my gosh, does Elena have the best eyelashes or what?

2 Responses

  1. those girls are adorable and I love the outfits!

  2. […] you can tell from the last dresses I made (shown here), I have gotten into the whole “big prints for little girls” fad that is out and about […]

Leave a comment