• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Snowmen in Texas!

I’m sure everyone  has heard ALL about the snow that hit large spans of the US — well, at least the East Coast (and apparently that’s the part of the country that matters most when you’re watching national news) — recently.

Well, the snow did not hit Texas.

Nevertheless, we have snowmen here!

2010-09-11-44.JPG

Finally, a proper introduction to my quilt “See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas!”

This quilt is so named because I’ve loved snowmen now for several years, and my Mom has always given me grief for loving them when I had never seen one, let alone make one, in real life since I was born and raised here in Texas.  (I have since lived in Indiana for 3 years, so I can now truthfully claim that I have made an actual real snowman!)  I fell in love with the quilt pattern Snowmen In The Woods and decided to make myself some snowmen, even if I do live in Texas!

2010-09-11-53.JPG

One of the few completely naked snowmen…

It seems the making of this quilt has been mentioned SEVERAL times on my blog in 2010 and earlier, as can be seen, at least in part, here, here, here, herehere and here .

2010-09-11-54.JPG

The paper-pieced trees took me forever, and I agonized over every scarf and mitten choice.  I was determined though!  My goal was to finish this quilt in time for my guild’s quilt show, and I did just that!

2010-09-11-47.JPG

OH NO!  He dropped a mitten!

It did not receive any awards at the quilt show, but I didn’t expect one for this quilt.  It was in the biggest category.  It did receive good marks and some great comments though, so I was definitely happy.
One of the things that makes me happiest with this quilt are the scarves.  I thought I’d add just one scarf to one snowman.  I kept auditioning  “just one scarf” with several different fabrics, and was continuously unsatisfied.  It finally dawned on me that I needed *more* than just one scarf.  Duh.  So now I have several scarves!


2010-09-11-45.JPG2010-09-11-46.JPG2010-09-11-48.JPG

I am also completely happy with my Mom’s quilting.  LOVE the snowflakes!  The thread is a shiny silvery-white thread, but not metallic.  It has great shine for this quilt.

2010-09-11-51.JPG

The snowmens’ eyes are machine-embroidered on, and the buttons are fabric.  The back of the quilt is a super-cozy green holiday flannel found on a clearance shelf.  The quilt measures 63″ x 78″.

2010-09-11-58.JPG

Elena has claimed this quilt for her bed this Christmas season, and has happily slept under it every night.  And that certainly makes *me* feel warm and cozy.

One Response

  1. […] had bought 4 yards of this flannel over the Internet to back my Yes Mom, I Can Make Snowmen In Texas quilt.  But the flannel didn’t work.  When I was buying it, I thought the fabric was blue, […]

Leave a Reply

