• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

The Quilt of Which I’m Most Proud: Cosmic Spiral

I think it’s about time I show off a quilt on this blog of mine, especially considering my quilting is what got me really interested in writing a blog!

This is the quilt that makes me beam with pride:
2008-09-25-10

I started this 27″ square quilt in a workshop with Barbara Olson at my local quilt guild so many years ago. I really don’t even know how many years ago. I keep meaning to e-mail the guild historian so she can give me an idea.

I didn’t get very far in the workshop because I was determined I didn’t have the exact right fabric I wanted for a spot in the yellow section — um, right where you start sewing!

2009-04-15-12-with-writing

My Mom also took the workshop, and she and I would periodically meet and spend F O R E V E R choosing each individual fabric, raiding each other’s stashes. And we would often find ourselves going backwards, “reverse sewing,” to take something out because we had found a new little snippet. Piecing was definitely the difficult part, but it was also the most fun! I loved the collaboration with my Mom.

Here’s a couple zingers I particularly like and enjoyed planning — the different color beams radiating from the center:

2009-04-15-04-with-writing2009-04-15-11-with-writing

And even after the spiral was pieced, it sat F O R E V E R again for me to put on the borders – I “fussy cut” those batik star triangles out of a huge piece of fabric (the holes are quite terrifying!) – and then it sat F O R E V E R for me to get brave enough to quilt it.

The only thing that made me get off my butt and finish it was that I wanted to enter it into the Austin Area Quilt Guild Quilt Show in September 2008. With some encouragement and quilting design advice from my Mom, I finally set quilting needle to fabric and quilted a bunch of spirals in it (view from the back):

2009-04-15-07

She actually calls this design more of her ‘knotty wood’ pattern, and it really is that but it also looks quite cosmic!  I put invisible thread on top and a beautiful variegated thread on bottom.

I finished the binding the night before entries were due, and then anxiously awaited the outcome of judging.

And LOOK! Honorable Mention!

2008-09-27-quilt-show-2

SO proud! My only negative comment by the judge was that she thought I should quilt the black & white areas some more. They do stick out as not-quilted (I stitched in the ditch of the seams), but I can’t really imagine filling it up, so I’m satisfied with the comment.

I even like my label a LOT, printed for me by That Quilter (my name deleted).:

2008-09-07-1-label-no-last-name

2009-04-15-06

 OH, and you can see how I got around the not-knowing-when-I-started by just putting a ‘finished in’ date!

Anyway, this quilt has so much work in it as well as so many memories of quilting with my Mom. It also has batiks! I LOVE batiks and have 3 shelves FULL of them, but generally I am too scared to use them up and so they sit on the shelves. This quilt is a reminder to me to actually USE the fabric I love because I will no doubt love the results even more than a cluttered sewing room!

5 Responses

  1. Beautiful!

  2. […] did the quilting on it this past August as practice for this spiral quilt.  I was trying to determine what threads and what design to use on the spiral quilt, and this was […]

  3. Beautiful quilt! Made me start humming Pink Floyd songs. 🙂

  4. TOTALLY STUNNING, GIRL! WOW!!

  5. My judge said the same thing about my Barbara Olson Cosmic Spirals quilt: more quilting in the black and white areas.

Leave a Reply

