• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Two Pansy/Primrose Tops

Ahhh, quilting at last!  Won’t bore you with details, but SO happy my sewing room is clean again and the machine is humming!

I *finally* decided what I was going to do with all my flower blocks, first blogged about here.  Thanks for all the advice – it really did help!  Anyway, I decided to make 2 quilts!

Oooh, such an arty shot

I actually had decided on just making one large diagonal quilt (Option C), but the longer I looked at it the less I liked it, and I actually started disliking the whole quilt.  And there it continued to hang on my design wall with me beginning to hate the darn thing and avoiding finishing it for some time.  I finally went back to the first post’s comments and realized that I, too, preferred just 3 blocks along the top.  (thanks Taffy!)

The two tops

So off went 6 rejects, and together went the quilt!  The main quilt is the one just folded on the hanger and I’m again happy with it.  (By the way, that’s a great storage idea I got from my Mom.  I store quilt tops on hangers with their backs and bindings also on the same hanger — they stay nice and wrinkle free and of course easy-to-find for when I’m ready to quilt.  The piece of paper on the bottom corner has the quilt’s size written so I can then also easily grab a batting without remeasuring.)

I’m going to wait to reveal the big quilt in full though until it comes back from my favorite long-armer, my Mom.  Don’t expect it soon though!  She is hitting her busy Christmas season, so I’m not going to bother her with my I-have-no-plans-for-it little quilt and don’t plan on even giving it to her until after Christmas!   BUT, you can feel free to contact her for your long-arming needs, and Mom – you can start thinking about the quilting this quilt needs!  Hee! 

Then I’ll probably just meander the crib-sized quilt.  I don’t really know what else to do.  You’ll probably notice it has 8 blocks instead of the 6 rejects mentioned.  I added 2 to make the crib quilt more complete, but just used leftover triangles, etc., to finish it off. 

One of the best things about these quilts:  I only bought the little pinkish-purplish inner border and backing, and I got that from a quilt shop’s clearance section!  EVERYTHING else is from either my stash or given-to-me stash.  Woohoo! 

4 Responses

  1. So pretty!

  2. Wow! I love this quilt. I’m definitely a fan of bold and bright blocks and these ones are so cool! I can’t wait to see what the bigger one looks like…

  3. […] Finish baby Pansies & Primroses quilt (needs binding). 2. Finish *my* Pansies & Primroses quilt (needs […]

  4. […] quilts were put on my Spring to Finish list here, and were previously discussed here and […]

Leave a Reply

