• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Cupcakes

You might have noticed that in the previous post there were some homemade goodies! YUM, cupcakes!

Now that I’m done waxing eloquent on my second-born, it’s time to give the lowdown on these great cupcake goodies.

First, Julia’s dress! The morning of her birthday party I got up and ran to the sewing room — and made this dress!

2010-02-26 picture people-4.jpg

It is New Look 6796, which I made previously into her Day of the Dead dress here and later into her Pocahontas costume here.  Obviously, the pattern is easy and I’m a big fan.  The cupcake fabric is by Lakehouse Dry Goods if you want to look for it — it’s a year or so old, but can still be found in some stores.

It isn’t the most neatly made dress, but it was done in time for her to PAR-TAY.
2009-12-12-24_edited-1.jpg
Well, at least in time for her to seriously decorate her cupcake at her party.

And since I had a bit of a cupcake theme going on for her party, I also made fabric cupcake goodies for Julia’s birthday gift and to go home with all her friends.
2010-01-17-14.JPG

Julia received her cupcakes in a cute little cupcake pan, but the kiddos just got to take one home with them.  By the way, I would totally do this as gifts for other kids, but now that all the kids I know were at the birthday party and got a cupcake each, I wasted that gift idea!  Ack!

I made the cupcakes using Cindy Taylor Oates’ cupcake pincushion pattern.  And I LOVE them.  And the girls LOVE them — definitely one of their most-played-with fake foods.

As for the making of them, the pattern called for them to be made mostly with sand.  With so much sand, the cupcakes ended up very heavy and not as cute.  The one I made per the instructions is the one in front with the little flower on top:
2010-01-17-25.JPG
Definitely not as cute as the others – or the pattern – in terms of its shape.  (Admittedly that is hard to tell in the picture, but really!)

With the rest of the cupcakes, I put stuffing in the top, then a bunch of sand, and then a little bit more stuffing in the bottom. They still are heavy, but not quite a ton, and definitely both more cute and more fluffy.
2010-01-17-31.JPG
Just look at those cute little striped bottoms!

Now, for the party I finished 15 of these tasty treats the night before the party. I am *so* not all about hand-sewing, and putting the fluffy balls on top and hand-closing the bottoms had my fingers sore. Ouch!

By the way, the one with the flower on top is now my pincushion, but the rest are playthings for the girls.  Just be sure if you give them to kids to be careful because your decorations on top could become choking hazards!

3 Responses

  1. I really love those cupcakes…what a good idea. Last year Cupcake Princess had a teddy bears picnic for her party and I made all the children a teddy sized rug for their teddys to sit on. They came out well but I didn’t finish binding them until about 3am the night before and I was shattered at the party!

  2. adorable cupcakes! my daughter would LOVE those!

    oh, and btw, you are one of my giveaway winners! you are one lucky girl…out of over 1300 entries, you will be receiving a fabric roll up! please email me your address so i can send it out to you!

  3. […] Julia’s dress is New Look 6796, which I made previously into her Day of the Dead dress here and later into her Pocahontas costume here and also into her cupcake birthday dress here. […]

Leave a Reply

