• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

A Bad Copy

That’s what my husband calls this quilt.  A bad bad copy.

DSC01864 cropped.jpg

He doesn’t like it because he thinks it is too much like his Woogie, but not as good!  It is, after all, made with his woogie’s leftovers.  But it isn’t a ragged-edge quilt like his.

Instead of a ragged edge quilt, I made a typical top and back out of my flannel scraps.  The quilting was easy on this quilt because I didn’t fool myself into trying to free-motion-quilt it.  I just stitched in every ditch and got it done. I think that’s the perfect treatment for this quilt though.

2010-06-08-09.JPG

I tell him that it is still wonderful and soft and fluffy and will be loved by its recipient, whomever that may be.

2010-06-08-10.JPG

For now, it will stay all folded up and waiting.  Waiting for some new baby boy that deserves a wonderful and soft and fluffy new woogie of his own.

The quilt is 40″ x 48″ and made completely up of leftover flannels just sitting and waiting in my sewing room.  I made the top as part of a challenge, and then finally finished it completely as part of yet another challenge.

 

Edited to add:  Since this is pretty much my quilt journal, I wanted to add that this quilt was given to a little boy Callahan – the newborn son of one of my husband’s coworkers.

One Response

  1. […] 6. Finish blue flannel baby quilt (made the top so far).  DONE.  Will blog soon!  But admittedly doesn’t look very different than when it was just a top!  Edited to add: Blogged here. […]

Leave a comment