• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Simona’s Flower Garden

Several years ago, I really thought I was going to make a watercolor quilt.  Really!  I have some great books and I truly admired them!  I was so convinced that I had cut up some flower fabrics into 2.5″ squares, and also bought a watercolor pack.  Lo and behold, I finally accepted reality and went about figuring out what to do with all those little squares.

Flower Garden quilt & pillow

As you can see, I decided nine-patches were the way to go.  And let me tell you, piecing nine-patches with individual squares instead of strip-piecing them is T-E-D-I-O-U-S.

I went into it without much of a plan.  Figured I’d make a quilt for my mother-in-law’s coming birthday, and that the random floral fabric would work for her.  I put them with black because I LOVE the way colors pop on black.  Unfortunately,  I didn’t know the dimensions since I just grabbed the stacks of floral squares and black fabric on hand.  Apparently, my black fabrics were from different sources and their differences can be seen up close.  Boo!

Detail

I had my mom quilt this one for me.  She smartly chose the purple thread, which provides an extra bit of life to the quilt — love it!

Flower Garden

In addition, my mom graciously gave me a large piece of floral fabric for the back of the quilt.  To be honest, neither of us was crazy about the fabric, so it wasn’t much of a sacrifice BUT my mother-in-law would know nothing different!  eep!

Back of Flower Garden

The pillow is admittedly very sad.  It was the first pillow I’ve ever? made, and I didn’t quilt it and didn’t make a pocket back or anything.  It is actually just stuffed instead of using a pillow form.  This was only done a year ago, but I have come *way* far in my pillow-making skills!

I finished the quilt just in time for my mother-in-law’s birthday last October, and she did love it.  She did do that thing that bugs me to no end though:  she opened it to the back first and thought I just gave her a quilt made out of one piece of ugly floral fabric . . . and she *loved* it.  Hello!  All the work is on the other side!

She also loved the front when she finally found it.  🙂

Finished in October 2008, sized 66″x72″.

5 Responses

  1. This is so, so stunning! I actually like that the blacks are a little different. Adds more character 🙂

  2. You have such beautiful stuff on here!

  3. It turned out great! Who cares about the black, it adds charm and personality!

  4. Lovely quilt! I spy a lot of beautiful Rowan fabric in there… Your quilt resembles a quilt called Charlotte sometimes. It is the second quilt in this post.

    http://thelastpiece.typepad.com/the_last_piece/2009/09/jumble-of-things.html

    And thank you for your comment on my blog, helping me out with the border choice.

    • Ahh, I had seen that post on The Last Piece and never drew the connection to my quilt! That quilt really demonstrates how great gray can be as the background of a quilt — I always tend to think white or black, not gray, but I’m thinking that’ll have to change!

      And glad you made a decision on your border, even if it wasn’t the one I advocated! 😉

Leave a comment