• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Sewing Olympics: GOLD!

DSC00239-1.JPG

Even before the closing ceremonies of the real Olympics started I had finished my flannel string quilt top!  I had doubted that I could do it, but it was a lot of fun meeting my goal.

First, THANKS! for all the votes — B & C were definitely the popular options. I ultimately decided I didn’t want to buy any fabric for making this quilt and thus C won out!  Finished quilt measures 48×60.  Perfect snuggle on the couch size.

Oh, wait, you want a better picture of the quilt??  The my-gosh-it’s-windy-today action shot doesn’t quite do it for you?  Ahhh, here you go!

DSC00234-1.JPG

That’s the Official Olympic Do-Not-Fly-Away Feet-on-the-Quilt Stance.

It was quite a windy day (hopefully it’ll be this windy next weekend for the Zilker Kite Festival!), so it is hard to tell exactly, but this quilt did give me some problems. I took out all the paper foundations before I sewed the blocks together (which, OMGosh, took HOURS – luckily, the Olympics were on to pass the time, imagine that!) and think that might have been a mistake. I think all those stretchy bias edges wreaked havoc, and there’s at least a 0.75″ difference in the measurements from top to bottom.

Guess I’ll be working on stretching it uniformly when I baste it. Yikes! But I went ahead and stay-stitched the ends to hopefully prevent it from falling apart and/or getting any larger before I baste it!

Anyone else reading make a string quilt?  When did you take out the foundations??

DSC00236-1.JPG

Loving this!  Man, I love color.  But wait! What’s that behind the string quilt?  Was there more completed during the Sewing Olympics???

YES!

First, the leftovers from this quilt were used to make a doll quilt.  My children LOVE playing “go to bed” lately.  Really.  Wish they were half as good at really going to bed as they are at playing going to bed.  But anyway, this baby-sized woogie will get lots of use by the girls:
DSC00256-1.JPG
Elena suggested though that we give it to her brand new cousin since it’s the perfect size for a little baby.  This little quilt measures @ 18×24.

AND, while I was busy looking through fabric for potential borders and backings for the above flannel string quilt, I ran across yet another baggy filled with flannel scraps! And thus, another quilt was quickly born while I was waiting for the setting votes to be tallied and my decision to be made:

DSC00245-1.JPG

This quilt is definitely going to be for a baby boy some day. It measures 40×48, and I also already sewed together a flannel back for it! Yay!  (The backing doesn’t match exactly, but close enough to work IMHO.)  It is just awesome, if I do say so myself, and really only took one night of cutting and one night of sewing.

SO, I think I might actually deserve a gold, silver and bronze for all this work!  Thanks again to the insatiable need blog for hosting these Sewing Olympics and getting me to start and finish 3 separate quilt tops!  (We’ll just worry about the actual quilting of these tops later.)

8 Responses

  1. Congratulations!!! (And great Do-Not-Fly-Away Feet-on-the-Quilt Stance – a perfect 10!) I think the final product looks great – the warms and cools look really nice together this way and the way you laid out the blocks gives the quilt some nice movement throughout. And I love the baby boy bonus bronze quilt – beautiful colors.

  2. Amazing work! You are definitely way ahead in the medal count! The quilts are all beautiful, but I think my favorite is the first one…the oranges and reds are just so pretty. Hope to see you again in 2 years for the 2012 Olympics! 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the compliments and for hosting! I really liked how the challenge forced me to start and finish something — such a rarity for me to do these days!

  3. What a great string quilt!!! I love it!!!

  4. […] Finish blue flannel baby quilt (made the top so far). 7. Finish my flannel string quilt (made the top so […]

  5. […] completely up of leftover flannels just sitting and waiting in my sewing room.  I made the top as part of a challenge, and then finally finished it completely as part of yet another […]

  6. […] Some of you may remember this quilt, and especially remember helping me choose the layout for the blocks!  I made this quilt top, yikes!, 2 years ago this week!  You can find all my previous posts while making the top here, here, here and here. […]

Leave a comment