• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

My Colorado Vacation: The Winter Edition

2010-01-31-03.JPG
Headed toward sledding.

Spring is upon us, BUT I haven’t shown the great snow vacation pictures yet! I thought I better get cracking! (Just a warning: picture heavy and no crafting involved!)

2010-01-31-35.JPG
Our sledding hill in the state park with Pike’s Peak in the background. Not much snow on the ground admittedly, but enough for us to have fun! By the way, if you click on this picture, you can see the tiny pink spots on the left hand side – my girls playing in the snow while we did a couple sledding runs without them.  Don’t worry, their aunt stayed with them!

Isn’t part of being a parent trying to give your kids something you never had/experienced? For me, one of those things was SNOW. I remember being in elementary and listening to my radio non-stop when they were telling us that It. Just. Might. SNOW. in. Houston!

To say I was disappointed more than once, well, yeah.

Now, in my 20s I did get get an opportunity to live in northern Indiana for 3 years and got quite my share of snow then, but it is still magical to me. And I had never been sledding before!

So back last fall when Southwest Airlines had super-cheap fares for flights in January-February,  I jumped on the deal!   Being Texans, my girls had never seen snow and Elena especially was fascinated by the idea of snow.  My husband couldn’t take the time off work, so it became a little girls-only vacation to see my brother and his family in Colorado.

2010-01-31-207.JPG
Girls only!

I was a bit worried about the trip on my own with my girls, but even with a 3-hour flight delay the girls were awesome.  And Julia in the airplane was hilarious, sitting for half the flight with her hands just so, tucked under the seatbelt:
2010-01-28-4.JPG

And my brother and family were fantastic hosts!  The only money I spent all weekend was for our lunches on-the-run and some necessary winter clothing for the girls.  Can’t beat that!

I was worried Elena wouldn’t take to sledding at all. She tends to not like being out of control, and I thought this would be too much out of her power and comfort level. For instance, Elena HATES swinging. She’ll sit on a swing, but don’t you dare move her!

My worries were all for naught. Elena LOVED sledding. Without hesitation she got on with her Uncle C, and then proceeded to sled with anyone that’d give her a ride!

2010-01-31-003.JPG
Inaugural trip with Uncle C a success!

Julia likewise LOVED sledding, but that came as no big surprise — our little 2-year-old is a thrill junkie! The vacation had her a bit off kilter though and she’d only be with me, but she and I had a great time.

2010-01-31-148.JPG
Julia’s and my inaugural trip. Never having gone sledding before, *I* was nervous and started halfway down the hill for fear of spilling and crushing said thrill junkie!

The girls also thought the trip up was just as much as fun as the trip down:
2010-01-31-058.JPG
Whee!

2010-01-31-81_edited-1.jpg
Squee! Showing my fave pic of the entire adventure.  Again.  LOVE.

I found the trips up the hill fairly exhausting…
2010-01-31-169.JPG

Okay, totally unflattering picture of me, but I swear I *was* wearing 2 layers of clothes!  There are jeans under those black pants!  I had to dress for the cold somehow!

…but Elena apparently thought they were the perfect opportunity to lay back, relax, and contemplate the wonders of evergreen branches.
2010-01-31-47.JPG

The girls also made snow angels:
2010-01-31-19.JPG

and played in the snow as if it were sand:
2010-01-31-28.JPG

and sledded some more:
2010-01-31-83.JPG
Girl power!

and played in the snow some more. Or contemplated the view? Or maybe became unable to move in their Christmas Story-esque snowsuits and waited for rescue?
2010-01-31-227.JPG

I would love to make this trip every year or two. The girls obviously loved the snow, and, even more-so, really loved seeing their cousins.

2010-01-31-231.JPG
Elena enjoying a trip down the hill with her fave cousin S.

2 Responses

  1. oh my goodness! looks like SOOO much fun!! i want to play in the snow now! i’ve never experienced real snow!

Leave a Reply

