• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Sewing Olympics: Blocks Done! Now What?

I have finished all the blocks! I have 40 warm blocks and 52 cool blocks, all measuring 6.5″ (6″ finished).

BUT, now what do I do with them? I spent yesterday taking pictures of several mock-ups and would love some help deciding what to do.

A. Two individual quilts. A warm quilt measuring 30″x40″ and a cool quilt measuring 36″x48″. These are obviously very small and would be baby quilts to be gifted at some point in time.  (not arranged to proper sizes in these photos, but you get the idea.)
DSC00161.JPG
2010-02-16-1

The kitties.  I have 2.  You would think I had 20 when I’m laying down quilts and trying to take pictures!

B. A double-sided quilt: one warm side and one cool side. I *love* this idea but would need to add borders to make it a usable size. I definitely like the look without borders, but with borders isn’t bad or anything. Here is the warm quilt mocked up with a border. The yellow inner border is a flannel that I own and would be great, but the red is just regular fabric. I would have to buy some red flannel. (Thanks to Wanda for this idea!) I would try to get the double-sided quilt to @ 40×50 — a somewhat usable lap-quilt size.
DSC00179.JPG

C. Cool center surrounded by warm, measuring 54×60.
DSC00166.JPG
D. Warm center surrounded by cool, measuring 54×60. Although I think I would take off the extra blue rows/border on the sides and instead make this 42×60.
DSC00172.JPG

E. Alternating blocks, measuring 54×60. My mom was a definite no to this setting last time I showed it, but I figured I ought to do a mock-up with all the blocks anyway.
DSC00175.JPG

Others I have already nixed, including a radiating out style that really didn’t work in either variation, and a …red blobs in midst of the blue field variation, which just, well, you can see.
DSC00169.JPGDSC00184.JPG
Yep, just not enough blocks for these to work.
DSC00163.JPG
Why hello there, red blobs! Not quite the “flowers on a cool background” I was going for!

Any favorites? Or any other ideas? My goal is still to finish the top(s) before the Olympics end so need to get crackin’!

And just an extra shot for the fun of it:
DSC00171.JPG
Um, Julia? Mommy’s working on that quilt on the floor right now…

7 Responses

  1. B! 🙂

    And I like how you’ve laid out the blocks in B.

  2. I like the double sided cool/warm idea a lot and like the borders, but if your goal is to use only fabrics in the house and not have to buy any then I’d go with the cool center/warm outer (option C) which is also very pretty.

  3. My favorite is probably the double-sided option. The polka dot fabric is perfect as a border and the red looks good too, if you could find something similar in flannel. I also like the cool center/warm outer — you could use the polka dots as a binding or a border if you wanted to make it bigger.

  4. I love both B and C-just a beautiful contrast!!! Good luck to you!!

  5. I vote C!!

  6. I vote C. To me, it is the most inviting. I love it.

    • Thanks! I was definitely leaning that way but all the positive responses to C really made me do it! So glad to have such a colorful top now!

      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Nancy

Leave a comment