• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

We Interrupt these Sewing Olympics

…to bring you other crafting!

My sister’s baby shower was this weekend, and while I already joined in on getting her her baby’s bedding, I couldn’t very well go to the party empty-handed!

And what does every new little girl need but hairbows and a place to store them?? And so, my hairbow frame is born:

2010-02-19-2

I had actually made a hairbow holder for myself over a year ago.  I did it in the french memo board style after I saw one at a hair salon.  I thought it was a great idea, and so much more attractive than my putting them all over my daughter’s lampshade (which was kind of cute, but, you know…)!

My french memo board style hairbow holder is cute, but done with things around the house and not as cute as the one I made my sister.  And it admittedly falls apart constantly:
2009-01-14-19

So I recently ran across a tutorial along the same lines, but using a picture frame and straight ribbon lines. (I’d give a link but I can’t find it. I didn’t save it since it was so simple.) And doesn’t this look just so much more professional?!

2010-02-19-4

SO going to redo my own in this same style.  Just need to get another coupon so I can get a frame cheap again!

My quick and dirty how to (with no pictures — I did it in less than an hour the night before the baby shower):

Materials Needed:

1.  Picture frame.  Mine had a 12″x16″ opening and was bought at Joann’s, with a 50% off coupon, for $10.

2.  Ribbon.  Bought one spool, again at Joann’s, with a 40% off coupon for $1.50.

3.  Fat Quarter (was in my stash).

4.  Fat quarter sized piece of batting.

5.  Tape.  Lots of tape.

Directions:

A.  Wrap the batting and fabric around the glass inside the picture frame, taping it onto the back of the glass.

B.  Measure and place 5 pieces of ribbon on top of the fabric, taping them secure on back of the glass again.

C.  Place glass with attached batting, fabric and ribbons into frame and put the back of the picture frame on as normal.

D.  Hang and enjoy!

4 Responses

  1. […] Framed Hairbow Holders Posted on July 26, 2010 by therealnanann Back for my sister’s baby shower, I made her a more awesome hairbow holder than I had made for myself. (See them both here.) […]

  2. Oh my goodness! I didn’t even realize this was your blog! I remember you from the Austin board. Great job with this. I can’t wait to give it a try!

  3. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Someone sent me this post and I have been making these all week. My girls love their new hair bow holder and I have you to thank. Click below to see pictures.

    Love your website. Good luck with your current quilt…I like the crescent moon…

    http://www.take10withtricia.com/2011/03/hair-bow-holders-and-fat-what.html

    • Thank you SO much for sending me this note! I know the page is looked at often, but I hadn’t seen any finished projects yet and all of yours were certainly fun to see! I’ve got a headband holder tutorial to write sometime too — my oldest has graduated to only headbands so our needs have been added to for hair doodad storage. By the way, you totally cracked me up with the fat quarter thing too — I hadn’t thought about people not knowing what it was since I grew up as the daughter of a quilter.

      And the crescent moon it is!

Leave a comment