• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

GO IRISH! (again….)

Okay, my previous blog post deleted for some unknown reason, so I’m trying this again…

I don’t know about you, but whenever I’m just sitting on the couch, I am snuggled up in a quilt.

Football season calls for a lot of just sitting on the couch — I do love my football!  I also have the good luck of being a Notre Dame alum & fan, and what with their NBC contract showing all their home games, I get to watch lots of college football!  (My other alma mater is University of Houston, and although they are less than 200 miles away, I can’t watch any of their games on TV ~ BOO!)  I’m sadly missing football season right now, so it is as good a time as any to share my new cuddle-during-games quilt:

I did actually finish this quilt before the end of the last football season, and watched my Irish win their bowl game while snuggled warm and cozy underneath it.  YAY!2011 05 20_0025.JPG

I previously blogged about this quilt here.  The shirts are The Shirt from when I attended Notre Dame and for some years beyond.  (Ten shirts total – used fronts and backs since both have designs.)  Proceeds from The Shirt go to charity, and it is awesome to see all the students wearing it at home games.  It is also unbelievable that these shirts are in any condition to be made into a quilt because I wore them ALL. THE. TIME.  Yep, I definitely lived in ND t-shirts those years.  (We’ll forgo any photographic evidence of that right now…)

I know t-shirt quilts are fairly ordinary, but I did want to recommend my stabilizer.  I stabilized all the t-shirts with Pellon’s Easy-Knit Fusible Tricot.

2011 05 20_0043.JPG

I bought a whole bolt of this stabilizer and HIGHLY recommend it for working with t-shirts.  I was completely worried about the stretching I’d have with the t-shirts, especially since I didn’t use sashing between the blocks.  But this stabilizer is pretty lightweight and was a dream to work with, and the quilt is perfectly square.

The quilting was done by That Quilter (my Mom) yet again – I love the shamrock pattern she found and the green thread is great!
2011 05 20_0026.JPG

Another favorite of this quilt is the backing — it’s flannel with some pretty-darn-cool appliques if I do say so myself (and I do!):

2011 05 20_0030.JPG

My little Irish cheerleader likes the backing too, and just before this was taken tried to sit on it and thus it fell off the fence.  Oops!

Suffice it to say, this quilt is H.E.A.V.Y. what with the t-shirts and flannel backing!  My husband’s not a fan of using it for that reason, but that’s okay, I like the weight.  Oh, and this quilt is BIG, especially for a couch quilt.  60″ x 75″ big.  (Each t-shirt is a 15″ square.)

2011 05 20_0037.JPG
Getting into shaking her pompom a little bit more.

So happy to have finished this quilt just for me, and even happier to share it!

Oh, I’m also putting this as my entry into the current Bloggers’ Quilt Festival:

Amy's Creative Side

I’m a little late on it this year — be sure to check out all the beautiful quilts out there!

6 Responses

  1. Go Irish. Great quilt, I love the back.

  2. very original and beautiful

  3. Great quilt. I love the little shamrocks 🙂

  4. Your cheerleader is just too cute!!! Nice quilt too 🙂

    Cheers~
    Marti in San Diego

  5. Che originale, bella!
    Ciao

  6. well done!

Leave a Reply

