• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

I Don’t Draw

Let’s hit my highlights yet again:

The Earth:

I really really can not draw — I think my 5-year-old does better drawings of things and people than I do.

And I really don’t know Canadian geography.

Combine the two of those things, and you get a really oddly-shaped North America:
2011 03 23_0002.JPG

My husband said the left side looked like a sheep, but the rest was some other sort of blobby animal.

I think it’s good enough to get my idea across.  I’ll cut it down a bit when I cut it out of fabric, but the Earth is coming together!  The blue is already steam-a-seamed onto the quilt -YAY progress!

And as further evidence that I am DONE with dithering,

The Moon:

It is a crescent!  I changed its fabric to a bit lighter gray.  The fabric also has some shine to it — some silver metallic on parts.  I loved the other mottled gray, but it was too close in color to the rocket and I wanted them to differ some more.
2011 03 23_0004.JPG

The Rocket:

Finally, the rocket is striped!  And look, a cute little astronaut!
2011 03 23_0003.JPG

The Newest Conundrum: The Backing!

A good friend gave these 2 great rocket fabrics to the 1st taker.

2011 03 23_0006.JPG
Another good friend was the 1st taker, but the 1st taker so kindly gave them to me when I had this project in mind.  I’m going to give back to her the unused fabric.  But I don’t know which I want to use — the bright rockets?

2011 03 23_0007.JPG

or the Alexander Henry rockets?

2011 03 23_0008.JPG

Both work!  I think it is the job now of the 1st taker to tell me which fabric she likes best and she can have it back.  SO, 1st taker – I know you read this and you know who you are –  which fabric do you like best???

Et cetera:

I had some people over at the house this past weekend who came into my sewing room.  After being all astonished at the huge stash of fabric and wondering exactly how crazy I am, they turned to look at my quilt on the wall — it looked just like it did in the pictures from my last blog post.  The quilt seemed to me fairly self-explanatory, but apparently I was wrong.  I had to explain and point out the moon, the earth, the rocket.  And then I got big “OOOHHHHH, NOW I get it!” responses.  Huh.  It was a bit disheartening, but onward I go!

2011 03 23_0001.JPG

3 Responses

  1. Your Mexico looks like a dancer’s foot to me. 🙂

    Way to make me come out of lurkerdom with your post! While they are both adorable, I’m a little more partial to the first rocket fabric – the bright rockets.

    I absolutely love this quilt! The fabric for the moon is perfect – looks like craters! And the rocket man makes me smile. You have outdone yourself with this one!

  2. I love the moon and rocket (with the little astronaut)! It’s coming together great!

  3. Way to go on the moon! I think it looks great – glad you stuck with the crescent idea you liked so much.

    And I think the bright rockets are just a teensy bit better, although they both totally work.

    It looks awesome! I love seeing all these fabrics together and USED!

Leave a Reply

