• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Decisions, Decisions

The background is all sewn together, and now I can’t avoid the big decisions any longer!

2011 03 17_0152.JPG

First, the Earth:

I have shaped it in such a way right now that I can use the fat quarter I like best for it.  It is not an even quarter of the Earth, but wider than it is tall.  I can’t decide if I’m okay with this or not.

Second, the Moon:

Ahhh, the Moon.  So many issues I’ve had with it.  My Mom thought I might like to put it in the corner just as I’ve put the Earth in the corner since the focus should be on the rocket ship, so that’s what I’ve mocked up.  I actually like it like this, but I also miss the idea of a crescent moon.

Third, the Rocket:

Just trying to choose the right fabric for it.  My Mom sent me some silvery-gray fabric as a possibility, as you see here:
2011 03 17_0151.JPG

And then I also have the striped rocket you see at the top of the post.

Ahhh, just not sure what to do! I think I might be leaning toward the stripes just because it has some more visual interest, but maybe I can use one of the fabrics as the body of the rocket, and the other as the fins (if I do them) and the cone.

Any opinions are welcome!  In the meantime, I’m going to continue putzing around and mocking up until I think I’ve found “it.”

4 Responses

  1. I really like the striped rocket – the lines give it movement and help carry the eye across the quilt.

    Maybe this will give you inspiration to finish the moon?
    http://www.space.com/11163-supermoon-biggest-full-moon-2011.html

  2. It’s looking great! I can’t wait to see what you decide. 🙂

  3. I really like the striped rocket. I agree with cia that it gives it movement. I like the earth too. Looking forward to see what you do with the moon!

  4. […] they turned to look at my quilt on the wall — it looked just like it did in the pictures from my last blog post.  The quilt seemed to me fairly self-explanatory, but apparently I was wrong.  I had to explain […]

Leave a Reply

