• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

The Start of Something New

And by start, I definitely mean the *very* beginning stages!

I have a couple quilts for little ones I need to make, and I decided to do a bit of a space theme.  I had drawn some outlines on paper of what I wanted to do, but really wanted to see what it would look like to scale.  Enter blue tape, center stage.

2011 01 26_0001.JPG

The Earth needs to be a bit bigger…

The quilt is set up to measure a wee 36″ x 42″, but I think that should be plenty.  Borders might be added, but that will be decided at the end.  I am really liking the starts of this, and am itching to get started.  But I’m stuck!

I can’t figure out how to piece it.  I don’t know whether to:

a)  Piece a scrappy dark blue background and applique the moon, the rocket, the stars & the earth on top of the background?  I definitely think this is the easiest way to do it, but it doesn’t really excite me.

or

b)  Piece a scrappy dark blue background and piece in some wonky stars ala Gwen Marston and piece in everything else as well, also drawing from Ruth McDowell’s piecing techniques?  Anyone who has followed me for any amount of time knows I *LOVE* that sort of piecing, but also have yet to attempt it myself.  I think this could be wonderful, but I haven’t been able to sketch up how to do it exactly, and it could make this little quilt difficult to make.

2011 01 26_0006.JPG

On the left, I have sketched out a background of alternating dark blue nine-patches & liberated stars with plain squares.  This is the background I’m leaning toward.  Piecing in everything will be difficult though — especially the land masses on Earth.  The radiating background on the right – with *everything* just appliqued on – would definitely be easier!

or

c)  Some combo of the 2 above.  Maybe piece the scrappy blue background and the wonky stars and maybe the moon, but feel free to applique on the earth and rocket?  I worry about the mix of techniques and that it will seem disjointed, but perhaps I’m overthinking it.  Lots of quilts combine piecing and applique!

2011 01 26_0005.JPG

You can see here some more of my beginning sketches — I considered doing a sun & planet quilt too, but decided against that.  You can see I’d also like to put a little guy in the rocket.

In the meantime, while I stew over this on my design wall, I’ve been busy cutting up some scrappy sashing and cornerstones to make 2 quilts for Quilts of Valor from some blocks my Mom and I made years ago.  They will make up some great quilts for some wounded soldiers, so definitely important work, and will show up on this blog eventually.

 

4 Responses

  1. I love the idea of the scrappy background! I think piecing the earth land masses would be very hard, so if you are set on that idea, I would go with appliqué. If you don’t mind a more rigid looking land mass, you could try to plan one out using HST’s and squares and rectangles. Maybe do some paper-piecing techniques to make it easier. I have a feeling this will look awesome! Also, you could use red, orange, and yellow thread to free motion quilt the flames shooting from the rocket.

  2. Oh, that sketch looks like it will be so cute! I can’t wait to see which way you go and the end result!

  3. I love this peek into your process!

  4. Love the use of blue tape for your planning – will definitely borrow that idea.

    And I’d piece in the moon and stars but then applique the earth and rocket – I like the idea of quilting the flames in different fire colors.

Leave a Reply

