• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Why Didn’t I Think of That?

During some of my recent blog-hopping, someone mentioned ironing the binding once you’ve machine-sewed it down on the front of the quilt.  (I didn’t keep track of where I read that tip — sorry!)  And I thought about that statement, did a big Huh? and Hmmmm….

And then I did it.  I attached the binding to the front of the quilt by machine, as I usually do.  Then, as I’ve never done before, I took the quilt with half-sewn binding to the ironing board and ironed out the binding.

2010 12 12_0014.JPG
This picture shows the binding hand-sewn down on the back (top layer of quilt shown), and it ironed out on the front (bottom layer of the quilt shown).

Man, it makes a binding *much* easier to hand sew because you’re not fighting it quite so much to turn it over the edge!  Does everybody else already do this???

Another quick tip which I’m sure others do:  use clips to fold it down so you’re not straining your hands quite so much.

And yet another tip which I’ve never done but have considered:  serge the edge of the quilt before attaching the binding.  My edges usually are stay-stitched, but I’ve never serged the edge before.  I *think* serging could be useful, but I’ve never felt like adding that extra step, and since I haven’t had a serger for too long I fear my ability to run it straight the whole way!

Hope these tips help somebody!

OH, and the quilt shown in the picture above isn’t mine, but a friend’s quilt I was binding.  So y’all get just a peak of it, and C!  Come on over and get it — it’s done!

2 Responses

  1. I have some of that bicycle fabric. Between my husband and I, we own 10 bikes. I just haven’t found a place to use the fabric.

  2. love the sneak peek! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

