• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Views from the Austin Quilt Show

My goodness, I make an ugly doll and then I keep it up on my website for forever and a day!  Let’s move on to some pretties!

I had a great time at the Austin Area Quilt Guild Show & Sale a month ago.  Now, finally!, I have some pictures to share.  These quilts just called at me to take their picture and give them some attention.  I hope you like them too!

(Note, to see the title/quilter/story, just click on the thumbnail picture of the info to enlarge & read yourself.  I apparently missed a couple by accident though, so please forgive me!)

First off, vegetables!  I’m not one much for eating them, but man, I really do love this quilt made from a Ruth McDowell book.  I think I have mentioned (more than once!) that Ruth McDowell is my favorite quilter.
2010-09-17-04.JPG2010-09-17-05.JPG
I think the color and fabric choices are brilliant and deep at the same time, and, well, fabulous:
2010-09-17-07.JPG

This is just a beautiful Japanese portrait (and hey! I have that fabric used on the top & bottom borders!), but if you look at the detail shot, the part I loved best was all the beadwork.  The seedbead snow and her earrings and jeweled hair doo-dads are all just fantastic.

2010-09-19-01.JPG

2010-09-19-05.JPG2010-09-19-03.JPG

Staying with the Japanese theme for one more moment, here’s a wonderful quilt made out of Daiwabo fabric. I just find this quilt, and others made out of daiwabo fabric, to be very serene and calming. I’d love to make one some day, but I really don’t need to collect another kind of fabric right now!

2010-09-17-51.JPG2010-09-17-52.JPG

Here’s a very well-done self-portrait with an interesting story.  I’m always amazed at how so few fabrics can be used to create such an in-depth and feeling portrait.
2010-09-17-39.JPG2010-09-17-40.JPG

Ahhh, and here’s 2 of my favorite people enjoying the quilt show with me:

Speaking of my Mom, here’s a quilt she sold in the show – YAY (it’s hand-quilted people!):
2010-09-17-32.JPG
I can try and look for a better picture later – it really is a gorgeous quilt.

I saved this quilt as a reminder for myself to do something like this with my girls’ art some day. Elena has finally started drawing real pictures and I can’t wait until I have enough art to pull this off. I think the quilter did a great job pulling together the drawings with the black & white backgrounds:
2010-09-17-43.JPG2010-09-17-44.JPG

I really liked the curved-bias applique all over this next quilt.  My Mom and I were discussing how it was done and whether the quilter had a bias-maker machine, making our best guesses, etc., when someone joined in on the conversation with her guesses.   Except she wasn’t guessing — she was the quilter!  Ha!
2010-09-17-14.JPG
2010-09-19-38.JPG

Here’s a cool art quilt — it is the underside of a carousel:

2010-09-17-21.JPG

And a stunning butterfly and sunflower, with some great quilting:

2010-09-19-15.JPG2010-09-19-18.JPG

This next quilt was definitely an attention-grabber.  It is held together with little clips and has different scenes on the front and back.  It really drew you in:

2010-09-19-26.JPG

2010-09-19-28.JPG2010-09-19-29.JPG

And this little blue bird just glows from its tree trunk.  It looks like it was made in the snippets fashion.  Just a great texture and depth to the whole piece:

2010-09-19-33.JPG2010-09-19-35.JPG

OH, and I have to share this great little umbrella art quilt. It was part of a traveling exhibit from SAQA and was great to see.  Sorry for the bad picture and lack of info — the quilt was wrapped in plastic.  But it’s just wonderful!
2010-09-17-10.JPG

There are more I enjoyed, but I think this is a good selection for now.  And in just a couple weeks, I’ll be going to THE quilt show of all quilt shows — Int’l Quilt Festival in Houston.  Can’t wait!!!

One Response

  1. Some great quilts! I am always jealous of the shows you get to attend.

Leave a Reply

