• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Spring to Finish: 1 down, 9 to go!

I tend to find that I am either in my room sewing or I am on the computer blogging/reading blogs, etc.  I find it very difficult to do both!  Since there has been radio silence here lately, you can guarantee that I have been doing LOTS of sewing!

We are over halfway through the Spring to Finish challenge right now, and I have finished more than 1 project, but I like to give each quilt or craft it’s own day in the sun.

And well, this skirt is only ever going to have one day in the sun, so I have to take advantage of it.

Number 5 on my list was ” 5. Finish ruffle skirt for Elena (she made me buy fat quarters from Joann’s and fabric is poor quality and must not mix with my stash!)”

I did it!  In no small part with lots of help from my NEW SERGER!  WOOHOO!

This skirt was made with tons of ruffles and great finished edges.  I did it without any pattern.  And Elena wore the skirt for these pictures.  But then immediately took it off.  She has declared the skirt – the one that she BEGGED for – too big and too heavy.

It now sits in her dresser.

But look!  It was cute and flirty, even though it was made with poor-quality Joann’s fabrics.  (I know some of their fabric can be good quality.  This stack was definitely not good.)  They were cute fabrics though!  And now they are just cute fabrics…sitting in her dresser.  Taking up lots of room.  Because, let’s be honest here, the skirt is big.  Oops!

4 Responses

  1. Thats a very girly skirt….glad to know I’m not the only mum out there delivering projects for her daughter and then getting critical feedback. Cant wait for my daughter to get old enough that I can return the feedback!

  2. it may be big, but it sure is cute!

  3. […] 5. Finish ruffle skirt for Elena (she made me buy fat quarters from Joann’s and fabric is poor quality and must not mix with my stash!)  DONE.  In fact, the first project that I finished.  Blogged here. […]

  4. its really nicely designed…

Leave a Reply

