• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Colorado and Corduroy

For the Colorado trip I brought a much-belated birthday gift for my niece: a homemade corduroy skirt.  Admittedly, instead of being done in October, it was done the week before our trip.  Oops.

I also planned on making Elena a matching dress to her cousin’s skirt, but alas, I ran out of time.  So did I give up?  And ruin the opportunity of having the fave cousins in matching outfits???

2010-02-01-5_edited-1.jpg

Oh, you should know me better than that!  My mom knows I will do anything for a photo op!  I might not have had the dress sewn together, but I could still pack the fabric and pattern –  ha!  So while the cousins ran circles around the house, my sister-in-law and I sewed up Elena’s matching dress.  Turns out that was a great idea:  the pattern was a bugger and I don’t know if I ever would have finished it on my own.

And here are the girls: Julia in a corduroy dress from the Salvation Army (have I said yet how much I *love* thrift store shopping for the girls – great finds!), Elena in her homemade corduroy dress and their cousin S in her matching skirt:

2010-02-01-7_edited-1.jpg

Elena’s dress is Simplicity 2574.  And I LOVE how it came out. Isn’t it just great?!? But I cannot imagine ever making this again. I generally don’t need to have the freedom to make an apparel pattern “my own” and really wanted to know exactly what I needed to make the dress on the pattern front. I mean, I religiously watch Project Runway but the inventive part of my sewing is saved for quilting, not clothing.

And the dress just has a TON of parts and steps. My sister-in-law and I are both competent sewists but the two of us worked together on this dress for several hours. We were determined, though, because we wanted to see the girls all together in their dresses.

2010-02-01-6_edited-1.jpg

And we did!  And isn’t the photo just a great reminder of the beautiful moment of 3 matching girls?!?!? Um….

The skirt is McCall’s M5920. According to the pattern’s recitation of measurements, my niece took a size 14. My sister-in-law thought that sounded about right, but MY GOSH,that skirt was HUGE. We had to take in the skirt 3-4 inches at the waist!  Of course, since my sister-in-law had a machine this was no problem at all but yikes if I had given it to someone else.

2010-02-01-1.JPG

As a post mortem, the two corduroys on Elena’s dress were very different weights — the pink was much heavier than the plaid.  It has unfortunately caused a hole to appear in the plaid fabric where one of the pockets is attached.  Still usable, but lesson learned.  Boo.

3 Responses

  1. I wondered how the skirt came out and was trying to figure out how that large skirt fit on that tiny cousin. How cute to have all three girls coordinate!

  2. great job! You have definitely shown you are an Olympic sewer : )

  3. Cute cute cute! I didn’t know you liked to hit thrift shops! Let me know if you want to hit up some one day–I’d definitely be up for it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

