• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Sewing Olympics 2010

The challenge begins!

From what I understand, there was originally a knitting Olympics, but I am most definitely not a knitter.  This Sewing Olympics hosted by the insatiable need blog though is right up my alley.  The rules are simple:

1. Start your sewing project during opening ceremonies (February 12).

2. Finish your sewing project before closing ceremonies conclude (February 28).

3. Pick a sewing project that is difficult for you, but attainable in sixteen days. You are supposed to be challenged, but don’t set yourself up for failure, or let it take over your life! That being said, sixteen days is a long time to work on one project…make it something good!

Everyone gets a gold medal if they finish.

So what am I doing???  I am going to make my first ever string quilt!  I really want to make one out of my Kaffe Fassett fabrics, but instead I’m going to use up the bag of flannel scraps from my “For the Boys” rag quilts.  I really want a practice run before cutting into my fave fabrics.  Here is my cast of characters for this project:

I’ve been in training the last couple days for these Sewing Olympics, which I understand is perfectly acceptable.  I have been simply ironing the fabric and crafting my plan of attack.

My goal is simply to have a top done by the end of the Olympics.  That will be completed project enough for now.

What, doesn’t everyone have a weight set and toys in their sewing room?

I’m really not worried about piecing a string quilt — I think the sew and flip method will be easy to do.  What I want to figure out with this project is a system for doing it.  As you can see, I have some very long strips.  To make them easier to work with, I’d love to cut them down, BUT I know if I do that then I’m liable to make more short unusable pieces than I would otherwise.

SO, anyone out there reading that has done some string quilts?  What was your method to the madness?

7 Responses

  1. What a fun project! I am new to the quilting world – what is a string quilt?

  2. I’ve made lots lots of string quilts. I use a thin fabric or muslin as the base … start with a piece in the middle. Check out
    http://www.maryquilts.com
    for a number of free string quilt patterns. They always turn out perfect.

    Good luck.

    • Thank you so much Sandy for the direction! I ended up using some thin typing paper I had on hand for the base. I was worried that since I was working with flannel in the first place the muslin base might make way too heavy of a quilt. I had fun looking at that website too — not one I had found on my Internet travels!

  3. okay, the weight set and toys comment totally made me laugh out loud. And no, I didn’t even *notice* them until you pointed them out!

  4. […] quilt top, yikes!, 2 years ago this week!  You can find all my previous posts while making the top here, here, here and […]

Leave a Reply

