• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Happy Dia de los Muertos!!

2009-10-28-81

What???  You mean to say that you didn’t make dresses for your children just to celebrate Dia de los Muertos??!?!

I really can’t say that celebrating “Dia de los Muertos” is in my cultural background, but I am Catholic and celebrate All Souls Day (Nov. 2), AND I appreciate how Dia de los Muertos/All Souls Day is a day to celebrate and remember friends and family who have passed.  Also, my children are half-Hispanic and it is a day celebrated by their grandmother, etc., in the cultural/traditional sense, so it seems natural to teach my children about the day from both viewpoints.

And I must then also admit that I love Alexander Henry’s fabric line, and I thought my girls would look super-cute in it!

And they did!  Julia got the pink sugar skull dress:

Julia showing a pumpkin

Julia’s dress is New Look 6796.  It was easy to make AND I just love how it came out.  I will definitely make this dress again! I love how the ruffle is ruffled at its top!

Walking on pumpkins

I keep meaning to try it on Elena to see if it is a good little tanktop for her, but I haven’t done that yet.  It would be great to get something for both girls out of the same garment!  (Of course, not that Elena’d wear it in that fashion since she only wears dresses!)

Julia's great smile

By the way, Julia loved the pumpkins with “chicken pox,” as Elena termed them.  Julia would laugh every time she found another pumpkin afflicted with the pox, like the pumpkin in the picture above and this one below:

Julia and the pox'd pumpkin

Elena then had her dress made with black sugar skull fabric:

Elena and the baby pumpkin

Elena’s dress is McCall’s M5569.  I’m not the biggest fan of how this came out, but I don’t think it’s the pattern’s fault.  I think I should have chosen to add more pink to this.  I’m thinking of maybe adding a pink bow around the waist and a band of the pink sugar skull fabric along the bottom.  Any opinions?  I think the dress just suffers from too much of the black fabric.  I’m kinda wishing a had just made a poofy-twirly skirt out of the fabric.

Elena shows off the "flower" pumpkin

I did have a couple issues with the pattern though.  First was that it required a FULL 44 inch width fabric to make the skirt, and my fabric was simply not the full width — more like 42 inches.  That was easily fixed since the dress is pleated.  My second issue is that the measurements indicated I should make her a size 5.  She is swimming in the 5:  I have a safety pin on the back pulling it tighter and I really think it is too long.  I’ll probably just put it in the back of her closet for a while after I make any adjustments — it should fit next Dia de los Muertos for sure!

Elena showing her dress

I really like the pictures of the dresses on the pattern, so I might attempt this again.  I’ll just consider my fabric choices a little more — and go down a size.

Elena on the Great Pumpkin Hunt

Now go celebrate their lives and remember your lost ones with happiness on this All Souls Day.