• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Quilt Festival 2009: My Final Round-up

As I showed already here, the quilts were fabulous at Festival.

But, of course, the shopping was also fantastic and I did my bit to help the world economy!  And I really mean world — look at these great fabrics I picked up at a vendor that came from Japan:

Japanese fabrics

They are designed by Keiko Goke for Yuwa Fabric according to the selvedge.  I remember a sign in the store explaining how this is her first line of fabric.  There were some other great pieces from this line in a quilt they had hanging, but they had already run out of a lot of it.  Thrilled to get these pieces though!

I had given myself a budget and did a pretty good job of staying in it, buying some fabric for specific projects and some just because I liked them.  I happened to stack them into warm and cool piles, and just look how great all these fabrics play together!

Pinks blacks & yellows

SO loved how these fabrics all mix and match!  I’m thinking I just might have to expand on this color grouping for a quilt.  (Definitely need more than just these — they are mainly fat quarters since I went for variety rather than bigger pieces of fabric this time around.)  I usually want to put my pinks with greens, but I think the yellows and blacks with the pinks is awesome!

And then most of the fabrics below were bought with a specific project in mind.  More details when I actually get started!  When checking through my stash recently for this project I noticed I barely had any of this bright blue, of which I need plenty for the quilt, so I worked on giving myself some variety!

Blues and greens

Finally, I found a snowflake print that would be great for the sashing of a snowman quilt I plan on making, so a full 2 yards of it:

Snowflake print

I so need to write myself a “finish *this year*” list so I can figure out what I want to do and what is actually realistic.  For instance, I would love to have the snowman quilt ready for Christmas.  However, I’ve been busy sewing clothes this past week instead – oops!

Other observations from Festival:

-They had a LOT fewer booths this year.  Our program this year stated “over 950 vendors.”  We checked out last year’s program — it said over 1100.  Still, LOTS of shopping to do and hopefully the economy will pick up and they’ll fill up completely again.

-We stayed at the Hilton Americas next door/connecting to the Convention Center.  Yes, my mom lives in Houston but it was fun getting to stay at a nice hotel, and great to just walk over and back whenever we wanted throughout the day with no stress.  We came back to the hotel for a late lunch on Saturday to watch some college football while we dined — great!  (yes, we’re both football junkies!)  And we sewed in our room both before and after Festival hours.

-If we do stay at the hotel again, though, we’ll bring a lot more of our own snacks.  The food was Expensive!

-I’ve never taken a class at Festival, but went and visited a friend at her class.  (Hi cia!  Thanks for giving us a peak!)  They really seem to have a great set-up and definitely tempted to take a class next time around.

-And one I know doesn’t interest most, but ahhh, it was so nice to be in Houston and be able to listen to Houston sports talk radio while I drove around.  Here in Austin it seems I can only listen to talk about the Dallas Cowboys (ugh) and the Texas Longhorns — loved hearing about my Houston Texans and University of Houston Cougars!

2 Responses

  1. woohoo! I got a blog mention : )

  2. […] has been mentioned SEVERAL times on my blog in 2010 and earlier, as can be seen, at least in part, here, here, here, here,  here and here […]

Leave a Reply

