• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

32.5 pounds

Wow.  Just wow.  I will never be able to say I’m not lucky again!

I was at a quilt shop at the end of last week and talking to one of the employees about wanting to make a string quilt but that I was still in the ‘collecting’ phase of that quilt.  One of the other customers heard the conversation and asked me if I wanted her scraps to help add to my collection.

I must admit I was hesitant, not wanting somebody else’s 1980’s brown calicoes, but she assured me that they were the same kind and quality as in the quilt shop where we were.  And she told me she had a HUGE box.

THEN she gave me her business card so I could call her to pick up the box, and *immediately* upon seeing that I got all sorts of excited.  I mean, check her out:  Art Quilts by Kathy York. I had voted for her before for viewer’s choice at a quilt show, and I’ve checked out her blog before!  (This was the quilt I voted for for viewer’s choice — sadly it is missing now, but what a great quilt!)  Certainly her scraps had to be good!

And the scraps were GREAT.  And my goodness, she was not kidding when she said the box was HUGE.  Seriously.  It contained 32.5 pounds of fabric! (yes, I did actually weight it!)

The BIG Box of "Scraps"

Before we left for vacation, I pulled everything out just to get an idea of what bounty I received.  And Oh Boy, was it a bounty.  Here it all is – laid out a bit at a time (Click on a picture to enlarge):

(If someone can tell me how to make a gallery  containing only some pictures instead of ALL of them, I’d be most appreciative.)

And, um, scraps?  Many (most?) are fat quarters, and there are even a yard piece or two!

And I must admit I was *most* excited about these fabrics.  After pulling everything out to look at them, I separated out the batiks, hand-dyes and solids since I store them separately from my other fabrics.  (Who am I kidding?!  I certainly will separate out the hand-dyes now, but I never had them in the past!)  These beauties will immediately be put in my stash once I finish unpacking from vacation!

Batiks and Hand-dyes  SO exciting!

These fabrics were in the prior pictures – I just wanted to separate them to see them in all their glory!

SO, it looks like I have a string quilt in my near future!  And I also have been dreaming up some other ideas for these fabrics.  OH, and I will certainly be passing on any that just simply don’t belong with me.  Kathy was initially going to drop these off at the guild freebie table, so anything I don’t keep will definitely go there.

Thanks again Kathy!

6 Responses

  1. Holy Cow! What an amazing box of “scraps”!!

    I’d say you won a quilter’s lottery!

  2. Oh wow! Lucky you. That’s one amazing box of scraps.

  3. Wow…you really hit the jackpot!!

  4. Holy cow! Talk about being in the right place at the right time!

    I LOVE her pieces — a picture of “City Lights” hangs next to my sewing table for inspiration. Maybe this box hold some of her special quilting mojo?

    Lucky, lucky you!

    • Oh I know — incredibly lucky and she does do just the coolest work! Totally hoping for some of her mojo, although the 1st thing I did with the fabric is incredibly…ordinary!

  5. […] made this set of blocks mostly out of the Big Box of Free Fabrics (love them!) and using this book:  Simply […]

Leave a Reply

