• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Carina’s Quilt

One of my husband’s cousins just had her 3rd baby girl, and while I planned on making her a quilt, I hadn’t even really thought about starting.  That is, I didn’t think about starting until my mother-in-law requested I make the baby a quilt so my mother-in-law could give it. Ummm, okay.

So, here is baby Carina’s quilt, made completely by me but from my mother-in-law!  Heh.

Carina's Quilt Front

I wanted to use stash fabrics, and I kinda wanted to join the frenzy going on over at the Old Red Barn quilt-along.  (Um, hello, new sewing machine as a prize!) 

I searched my stash and found a stack of old Robyn Pandolph fabrics.  My mom gave these to me several years ago, after she made me a shirt out of them, and I LOVED them.  Robyn Pandolph’s designs make such soft and feminine-looking projects.  But, after sitting on my shelf for several years, the fabrics just don’t do much of anything for me anymore.  LESSON:  USE that favorite fabric that you just bought NOW before you tire of it!

I must admit I like the back of this quilt better than the front:

Carina's Quilt Back

That heart is *not* a Robyn Pandolph fabric and is in fact the quilt label.  I used a fabric pen after these photos were taken to write down baby Carina’s information: date of birth, weight, length, etc.  Here’s a close-up where you can see the quilting — it was a stipple with random flowers throughout to kind of match the feel of the flowers in the fabric:

Close-up of Quilting

I didn’t have enough to do the whole Old Red Barn quilt-along as she designed, but I went ahead and still did a rail fence, finished size 40×48.  EASY.  The whole quilt was done in less than 2 weeks.  The part that took the longest to finish?  Binding, of course.  Just not my thing!  The binding is scrappy (although all pinks so hard to tell) b/c I didn’t have enough fabric to do otherwise and I was determined not to buy anything.

Carina's Quilt Folded

The above picture is a better representation of the colors.  I need to avoid taking pictures so early in the morning on that fence b/c the sun glare messes up my colors.

Anyway, long story short: the fabric was perfect to give away to someone, and although I’m not digging the fabrics now, I know I once did and that they should still make a pretty feminine quilt for a little baby girl!

And the best part for me?  Making my mother-in-law happy, a baby and her mama happy, AND getting that fabric out of my stash!  YIPPEE!

Leave a Reply

