• Finished Quilts in 2010

    Click pictures for full details! Julia's Field of Blessings See Mom, I *Can* Make Snowmen in Texas! All Shook Up Pansies & Primroses Vintage Spring Vintage Baby A Bad Copy
  • Finished Quilts in 2009

    Click pictures for full details! Sunshine & Swimming Pools Loving Hands Boy Woogies Carina's Quilt Front Charity Quilt 1 Charity Quilt 2
  • Finished Quilts: Previous Years

    My sister's quilt Elena's Signature Quilt Cosmic Spiral Simona's Flower Garden ...And Everything Nice The Wool Quilt The Original Woogie
  • Finished Craft Projects

    Traveling Car Playmat Brown Bear Matching Cards
  • Finished Girls’ Dresses & Costumes

  • Quilt To Do List

    *Julia's "Baby" Quilt
    *Bethlehem Quilt
    *Kaffe Fassett String Quilt
    *Star Happy Batik Quilt
    *Red & Tan Single Wedding Ring Quilt (blocks made)
    *Batik Charm Square Quilt
    *Lingerie Quilt
    *Purple & Gold Mystery Quilt (just needs quilting!)
    *Eagle paper-pieced Quilt (@ half pieced)
  • Other Craft Project To Do List

    *Alphabet Matching Card Game
    *Apple/Pear Dress for Elena
    *Pillow Case Dress for Julia
    *Knit Dress for Elena (need to do post!)
    *Knit Shorts for Me

Spring to Finish: 3 Done!

I *really* needed a push to finish up some quilts, and Tallgrass Prairie Studio’s Spring to Finish seemed like the perfect incentive.

So, in early May, I put my goal out there for 4 quilts, knowing 1 HAD to be done before the end of the month.  The 3 others only needed binding, so I thought they maybe, might, could be doable.  possibly?

Well, here we are with less than 24 hours left and I’ve definitely made progress!

Of course, the one that had to be finished is done and delivered:

2009-05-25-14

I have also finished 2 charity quilts that were started a couple years ago:

2009-05-30-022009-05-30-04

These are the simplest of patterns – with 1 yard each of 3 separate fabrics you end up with 3 little quilts.  (I gave the 3rd away as simply a top to a friend for her guild’s charity.)   The finished size is just smaller than a yard of fabric.

I’ll be giving one of these quilts to my guild for their Baby Bundles project, and one to my Church for Project Gabriel.

The quilting on these was done by That Quilter.  One has hearts throughout the quilting, and the other has these great flowers that match the floral fabric really well.

Heart quiltingFlower quilting

I must admit that one of the reasons these quilts were so fast to bind is because I did them completely by machine instead of handstitching the back down.  I’ve never done that method before and wanted to try it out.  It was definitely fast, but the results were messier than I’m used to.  Don’t know if I will do it again, and definitely not for anything heirloom, but perhaps practice will improve.

2009-05-30-08

Now I have 1 more quilt on my list I would LOVE to get done, but we’ll see.  The binding is all machine-stitched down so now I just need a chance to do the hand-stitching.  It’s a small quilt, so hopefully I can get it done tonight while watching TV with my husband and be able to report 4 done Monday morning.  Wish me luck!

One Response

  1. […] did Tallgrass Prairie Studio’s Spring to Finish last year and really enjoyed finishing up some projects. As you know, I failed horribly with the New Year […]

Leave a Reply

